Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Set up RedHat Version 4 From Scratch

Partitioning The Hard Drive

To install Linux you should have a minimum of 2 partitions. But as an optional you could also have 3 or more partitions.
  • swap - Essential Partition This is like the Virtual Memory on Windows.
  • root ('/') - Essential Partition This is where all the other partitions will list. This the most top of the USER file system(Linux has an Universal File System, not like Windows).
  • boot ('/boot') - Optional Partition This will store the files which are needed for the OS to boot up in a separate partition.
Linux has an Universal Directory hierarchy and Windows has a Tree Directory hierarchy.

No comments:

Post a Comment